Mrs Carolyn Cox (Acting Chair)                                                   

    Mr Colin Richardson (Treasurer)                                                  

    Mr Jim Clarke                                                                               

    Mrs Pat Hayter                                                                                                                                                 

    Mrs Margaret Hammond                                                              

    Mrs Bobbie Perrin                                                                       

    Mrs Denise Potter                                                                        

    Mrs Helen Lawes - (Matron) - ex officio                                       

    Ms Dee Falding (Matron's representative) - ex officio                 

    Mrs Elizabeth Heath (Secretary)                                                 

There will be a committee meeting on the first Tuesday (@ 2.00 p.m.) of each month with the exception of May, August and December. 




The Westminster Memorial Hospital's planned Sensory Garden was one of Waitrose's green token charities until the end of October.  Thank you to everyone who contributed and to Waitrose who selected us as one of their charities. 
We raised £444.



The Westminster Memorial Hospital has achieved the Gold Standard Framework Accreditation for its End of Life Care policy.

The GSF quality improvement programme focuses on practical effective implementation of nationally agreed quality standards drawn from a wide range of quality markers.

The aim is to improve the quality and coordination of end of life care, reduce acute hospitalisation and enable more people to live and die well at home or close to home.

In order to be accredited with this national hallmark of approval, the Shaston and Ashmore teams have worked extremely hard to embed all the principles of the GSF standards of care into the hospital’s everyday practice.

Sister Sue Smith, Staff Nurse Nicola Hill and Health Care Assistant Bev Duffy have played pivotal roles in driving these standards forward within the teams and took part in the GSF visit back in June when they were able to showcase what the hospital does.

Two of our committee members being presented with their certificates at a recent event for Dorset Healthcare Volunteers.




Email address for the Friends: or through reception at the Westminster Memorial Hospital, Shaftesbury.

League of Friends of Westminster Memorial Hospital Shaftesbury (Reg Charity No: 281419)